The FSSC22000 provides a framework for effectively managing your organization's food safety responsibilities. FSSC22000 is fully recognized by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) and is based on existing ISO Standards.


ISO22000:2005 is a voluntary standard developed to facilitate the setting up of food safety management system. It incorporates HACCP principles and pre-requisite programs (GAP, GMP, GHP, GVP, etc.). ISO22000:2005 has been elaborated by the ISO along with different actors . Therefore, ISO22000:2005 harmonizes the requirements of national food safety management systems on a worldwide basis.

IFS Food

IFS is a private voluntary standard developed by EU Retail Federation launched in 2003. IFS is designed for companies, who undertake the following activities: (i) processing, (ii) handling of loose food products and / or (iii) primary packing activities.

SQF1000 and SQF2000

SQF codes are designed for use by all sectors of the food industry to reduce the incidence of unsafe food reaching the marketplace. SQF program was launched in 1994 in Australia and has been administered by SQF Institute since 2004, a division of the FMI. SQF Code is an application of HACCP principles and Australia food safety guidelines. SQF code has programs: (i) SQF1000 code for primary producers and growers, and (ii) SQF2000 code for the manufacturer, processor, and distributor.

BRC Global Standard (Issue 7)

BRC standard is a private voluntary standard developed by British Retail Consortium. The standard has been set up in order to protect consumers’ health and to enable British retailers to comply with the UK Food Safety Act. The compliance with this standard requires the adoption and implementation of HACCP principles, and the setting up of a documented and effective quality management system. BRC standard also cover factory environment standard and process control. Certified products carry the BRC logo.


HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) is a food safety tool focusing on the prevention of hazards rather than relying on end-product testing. HACCP is an internationally recognised as a monitoring and control system to prevent potential hazards during food processing. The USA requires mandatory HACCP program as an effective approach to food safety. The regulation EC No 852/2004 states that “all food business operators should establish and operate food safety program and procedures based on HACCP principles”.


GMP (good manufacturing practices), also known as pre-requisite programs, is considered as a first step to food safety as a series of principles to be fulfilled to ensure that products meet legal pre-requisites for safety and quality. GMP has seven principles:
• PRINCIPLE 1: Design and Facilities
• PRINCIPLE 2: Control of Operations
• PRINCIPLE 3: Maintenance and Sanitation
• PRINCIPLE 4: Personal Hygiene
• PRINCIPLE 5: Transportation
• PRINCIPLE 6: Product information and consumer awareness (Traceability)
• PRINCIPLE 7: Training