Feed the Future Global Food Security Broad Agency Announcement

USAID is issuing this Broad Agency Announcement (BAA) to invite participants to co-create, co-design, co-invest, and collaborate on innovative research and development (R&D) interventions to address challenges to global food security. The intent of the BAA is to create high-quality, effective partnerships to conduct cutting-edge R&D to find new and innovative ways of combating food insecurity and malnutrition. Under this BAA, USAID seeks partners that are committed to shared responsibility, shared risk, and shared resourcing, or co-investment.


ISO22000:2005 is a voluntary standard developed to facilitate the setting up of food safety management system. It incorporates HACCP principles and pre-requisite programs (GAP, GMP, GHP, GVP, etc.). ISO22000:2005 has been elaborated by the ISO along with different actors . Therefore, ISO22000:2005 harmonizes the requirements of national food safety management systems on a worldwide basis.


HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) is a food safety tool focusing on the prevention of hazards rather than relying on end-product testing. HACCP is an internationally recognised as a monitoring and control system to prevent potential hazards during food processing. The USA requires mandatory HACCP program as an effective approach to food safety. The regulation EC No 852/2004 states that “all food business operators should establish and operate food safety program and procedures based on HACCP principles”.


GMP (good manufacturing practices), also known as pre-requisite programs, is considered as a first step to food safety as a series of principles to be fulfilled to ensure that products meet legal pre-requisites for safety and quality. GMP has seven principles:
• PRINCIPLE 1: Design and Facilities
• PRINCIPLE 2: Control of Operations
• PRINCIPLE 3: Maintenance and Sanitation
• PRINCIPLE 4: Personal Hygiene
• PRINCIPLE 5: Transportation
• PRINCIPLE 6: Product information and consumer awareness (Traceability)
• PRINCIPLE 7: Training


GLOBALG.A.P is a voluntary and private standard began in 1997 as EUREPGAP , which is an initiative by EUREP, a large supermarket chains in Western Europe . The aim of GLOBALG.A.P is to increase consumers’ confidence in food safety, environmental impact and the health, safety and welfare of workers and animals. GLOBALG.A.P standard consists of IFA Standard and General Rules, and CPCC.


Participatory Guarantee Systems (PGS) are locally focused quality assurance systems. They certify producers based on active participation of stakeholders and are built on a foundation of trust, social networks and knowledge exchange.


The IFOAM Standard is an internationally applicable organic standard born to create synergies and harmonization in the organic sector at global level. Bioagricert Organic Standard has been accredited by IFOAM since 1996.